Work Out Loud: Personal Content Curation Strategy Part 1

Content Curation Goals & Topics

I’ve been doing a lot of research and experimenting trying to figure out my personal knowledge management strategy.  In addition to learning from Harold Jarche and Stephen Dale, I came across a MOOC on content curation a few weeks ago (check it out the platform is really cool!).  This is where I found Beth Kanter and her Content Strategy 101 article.  In her article, she provides a questionnaire to help you get started.    I’m going to work through this questionnaire on this blog to hold myself accountable and  hopefully provide others with a bit of inspiration.

Content Curation Goals

In a previous post I discussed my core desired feelings.  These are my guideposts and how I chose how and what to spend my energy on.  I used these feelings to help me work through the first set of questions from Beth’s questionnaire.

What is the value that self-directed learning can bring to your work?

Self-directed learning helps me to stay current in my profession (learning & development), gives me the ability to connect with others (a key core desired feeling) and provides me a sense of wonder (this world is amazing and I love learning about it).

What do you want to accomplish?

I want to contribute to the global learning & development brain, build connections with a diverse set of people and get rustic (my term for getting uncomfortable so learning & growth can happen)!

Currently this is pretty high-level, I have a feeling I will refine it and make it more SMART, as I work through this process.

Note To Self:  Re-look at this section once complete with this process to see if  these need to be adjusted.

Content Topics

What topics do you need to follow to reach your goal? Don’t pick too many. Be specific.

This took some brain power and I had already been thinking about this a lot as I have been engaging in social media over the past couple of months.  What really helped me with this exercise was a blog post by Karen Jeannette on how she looked at her twitter favorites as a way to see what type of content she was collecting and why.  I met Karen through Harold’s PKM course and she has been a great inspiration to me.

I followed her process and came up with the following Word-It-Out cloud to see the types of content I had been collecting and engaging with over the past view months.

Results of twitter favorite content analysis.
Results of twitter favorite content analysis.

 

After analyzing my favorites in twitter, I narrowed down the content I need to engage with to start working on what I want to accomplish.

My Topics

  • Content Curation: I believe this is where the Learning & Development Industry needs to head (read this article by David Kelly for more information) and I want to engage with others in figuring out how to make this happen.  I also need to know more about this as I work through my own information overload and tool ADD issues.
  • Content Creation:  I want to keep up with and learn from others on how we can create more engaging and reusable content.
  • Social learning: We are in the era of social.  I want to get better at engaging with and learning from others, as well as, help others do the same.

 

Next Time

I’m currently working through the following questions from Beth’s questionnaire.  I may break these into smaller posts.  We will see how it goes.  It’s all just a continual work in progress ; )

  1. What are the best sources to follow? Blogs, Web Sites, Individuals? Less is more. Build slowly. Delete if no longer valuable.
  2. How to organize?
  3. Schedule? How will you build at least 15 minutes a day to seek out information?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Work Out Loud: Personal Content Curation Strategy Part 1

Add yours

  1. It’s great to see the word cloud idea might be helpful for someone else, too! I am glad you mentioned Beth’s questionnaire. I’ve read her posts on curation many times, but have not yet explored the questionnaire. I think it will be valuable for me to work through also.

    Last but least, I thought I’d say I agree with your point on social learning: “I want to get better at engaging with and learning from others, as well as, help others do the same.” I think this is why the PKM 40 day workshop was extremely valuable in understanding (and practicing) how to share on a personal-professional level. It’s not the easiest thing in the world to share your half-baked ideas – especially in areas where one might be outside of their ‘credentialed’ or formal areas of study. As more and more ‘experts’ will need to start networking, finding intersections of expertise, and merging new ideas to solve complex problems, this in itself is a valuable thing to think through – i.e. what tools and processes will I use to do this and how will I help others feel comfortable merging their ideas with a network of expertise (i.e. rustic learning, as you say) through their own set of tools, processes, and conversations.

    Thanks for sharing through out the workshop, and now here. I’ll look forward to hearing more about your progress here and on Twitter.

    Like

    1. Sharing my stuff is always hard because I am a perfectionist but its good because I am learning that it doesn’t have to be perfect to be of value. At this point in the game I am just really doing this for me and any help that I can provide others is a bonus point ; ) I am so glad you are on this journey as well as I really do find how you work and think through things helpful to my own process.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

