Learning Reflection: Half-Baked Idea From A Recovering Perfectionist

This week I was inspired to try something new by sending out a “half-baked idea.”  A concept I learned about through Harold Jarche (I know I reference this guy a lot and yes, he is that good).

My Inspiration

My Half-Baked Idea

This idea was in the form of a brief to one of the VP’s of the company I work for to help the team convince our company to further invest in our Learning &Development function.  Normally, I  make sure that  the content is solid and that the side deck has visual appeal before sending it for review.  This time I chose not to do that, sending out a text only version with an outline of what I thought we should cover.  If you are a recovering perfectionist you will totally understand how hard this was.  All I could hear as I hit send was the monkey in my head telling me I was going to look like an idiot. I did it anyway and below is what I learned.

My monkey mind reminding me of my perfection issue.
My monkey mind reminding me of my perfection issue.

The Results

  • Just because you know how to do something doesn’t mean you should:  It’s rewarding to give other people a chance to shine.
  • The value of the collective is sometimes better than the value of the individual:  What was returned to me was far better than what I would have created myself.
  • Creativity needs space:  If you provide someone the solution they never really have a chance to think outside the box and innovate.
  • It’s hard work getting over yourself:  I have to remind myself daily that I do not need to have all the answers, that I can be imperfect, and that if I don’t take the chance to fail then I will never truly learn.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

