This post is a continuation of my attempt to work out a personal content curation strategy. In Part 1, I worked through question 1 and 2 of Beth Kantar’s Curation Planning Questionnaire.

In Part 2, I will share how I am working through the question of figuring out the best sources to follow and how to organizing them.

Seeking Information

Initially, as I was getting they lay of the social media landscape, I just sought information from people I considered to be experts in the topic areas I had chosen.  To keep it simple I followed them on twitter and subscribed to their blogs on Feedly.  As, I got more comfortable, I started to branch out on my own using key word searches and added other people, companies, & blogs to my feeds.

I think I went a little overboard as I became instantly “content fried” and wasn’t sure how to mange all this information coming at me.

This is when the light bub went off for me and I realized why  Beth challenges you to think about how you organize information – so you don’t get content fried.  It is also where I have been stuck for weeks – trying to organize all this information coming at me.

My Goof

I think I did what most people do and jump right to the solution – a shiny new tool (or in my case a suite of tools).  Seriously, as an L&D professional, I should know better.  Obviously, I like to learn the hard way.   What I wish I had known is this:

The tools don’t necessarily matter, at least, not a first.  I needed to figure out what to do with all this content so that it helped support my goals, not hinder them.

 The Solution: Triage & Filter

The answer for me was to set up a framework for triaging and tagging all content – no matter the source or the tool I am using to organize/store.

Here’s a snapshot of what I am currently doing:

 

My Triage & Filtering Process
My Triage & Filtering Framework

Essentially, I quickly scan content and determine whether I want to do something with it now, later or both.  If I want to save something for potential use later I  tag it with at least two tags – a topic tag to describe the content and a use tag to describe how I may use it as described below:

  • Tweet – it’s nice to have a potential tweet list on hand and I always like to add my own take so if I am lacking in time – this is how its tagged. It also helps me find content for my Sunday Summary blog posts.
  • Blog – if I think it may support a blog post I am working on or sparks an ideal fore one, it gets this tag.
  • Curate – if it’s a good add to something I am already curating but don’t have time to add my own insight, I tag it with curate.
  • PKM – this tag is for content that really intrigues me but I’m not sure what do with yet.

Currently I am using Pocket and EverNote as places to store content.  Pocket if I haven’t had time to dig into it in depth and Evernote for things I have read and been able to higlight relevant information.

Next Time:

Part 3 of my personal content curation strategy: Tool Usage and Organization.  I seriously hope it doesn’t take me as long to work through this piece.  At least I have a head start since I tried to find the solution before I really understood what I wanted to do ; )