Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Find 1

An article on Agile Leaders by Kevin Cashman (@Kevin_Cashman) found through Karen Jeannette (@kjeannette) on twitter.

My inspiration:  Kevin’s definition of learning agility and change agility. The article discusses learning agility as a key component to leadership and describes it as the “ability to learn, adapt, and apply ourselves in constantly morphing conditions.”  Kevin also talks about change agility as a crucial dimension of learning agility.  He defines this dimension as “Enjoying experimentation, being curious and effectively dealing with the discomfort of change.”  These definitions helped to provide me an additional framework to describe why it is so important to purse personal knowledge management.

Find 2

blog post by Will Thalheimer (@WillWorkLearn) found via a subscription to his blog via feedly.

My inspiration: Will talks about the 5 biggest failures of the learning & development field.  Though I agree with them all, #4 hit home for me: “We don’t fully leverage on-the-job learning.”  I am starting to realize this is becoming an even bigger component in the L&D bag of tricks and we need to encourage it vs trying to manage and formalize it.  Will also offers some great tips for doing just that, my favorite being to “encourage managers to give direct reports time for learning and exploration.”

Find 3

blog post by Clive Shepared (@cliveshepherd) on the new age of exploration found via a subscription to his blog on Feedly.

My inspiration: This quote: “It is no longer appropriate to call those responsible for devising learning experiences instructional designers. The designer of the future has to know when to call upon all four strategies (curation, exposition, instruction and guided discovery), taking consideration of the desired learning outcomes, the characteristics of the target population and the distance that this population has traveled on its learning journey. This is a new breed of designer, empowered to break free from the confines of instructional systems design. Designers themselves are on a voyage of discovery.”  WOW powerful!  It inspires me to keep on learning, challenge my old assumptions and get on board.  The time is now.

Summary (aka reminders to myself):

  • It truly it is the new age of exploration: Working on my ability to be agile with what I learn and how I deal with change will become even more crucial in the next few years.
  • Learning on-the-job, personal knowledge management, & other informal learning methods are becoming increasingly more important: As a learning professional I have a responsibility to my organization and myself to champion this type of learning and help others realize it’s value.