Sunday Summary: “Looking up” & “Naming It”

Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Find 1

A blog post on being busy by Shannon Tipton of Learning Rebels found on twitter via Con Stotidis (@LearnKotch)

Inspiration:  Shannon’s post talks about taking the time to “look up” in our busy day to day lives.  She explains that “Looking Up” is a choice, a choice we often forget to make. We get caught up in all the things we THINK we are supposed to be doing.”  She than applies this to L&D by stating that “Looking Up” is about taking the time, and having the courage to look beyond the norm.”   I so want to do this, which is why this is inspirational to me.  No more being defined by my job description or even by the norms of L&D.  To evolve we all need to “look up.”

Find 2

A blog post on “naming it” by Sarah Jones (@ozsarahj) via her twitter feed.

Inspiration: I connected with Sarah during a workshop conducted my Jane Hart.  In general Sarah inspires me because I have found that engaging with people who are also on the same journey as myself is just as beneficial as engaging with those who are considered experts in their field.

In her first blog post Sarah shares that she has been observing the term ‘naming it’ being used in her workplace.  She stares that “It’s usually been said in the context of being honest and up front about something that needs improving.”  Sarah then explains how she is using this concept to work on things that she feels she needs to improve from a professional development perspective.  It’s hard to admit where we may lack knowledge and skills, especially as L&D professionals.  I love that Sarah was so open and honest. It inspires me to do the same.

Summary (aka reminders to myself)

  • “Look up:” Take the time to gain perspective and ask why.  The solutions that worked in the past are not the ones that work now and will not be the ones that work in the future.
  • “Name it”: I have been spending the past few years of my career working on strategy and figuring out how to evolve the curriculum of my current employer that I have found I have a gap it my actual development skills.  This gap along with evolving my content curation and pkm skills are top priorities for me in 2015.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

