Sunday Summary: The Value of Unfinished Work & Sharing

Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Find 1

A blog post on collaborative leadership by Natalie Laderas-Kilkenny found via her twitter feed.

Inspiration:  I was doing some research on collaborative leadership and came across Natalie’s tweet. Not only does Natalie provide a great summary of collaborative leadership, she offers a great example of working out loud by providing a rapid prototype of a presentation she is working on.  This was a great reminder to me of the value you can offer by sharing things that are “unfinished.”

In addition, I believe collaborative leadership is going to become more and more important in our networked economy and Natalie’s presentation helped me to make this connection.

Find 2

A blog post by Jessica Hagy on what she has learned from 8 years of blogging found on twitter – I wish I could remember through who but I was bad at record keeping this week ; )

Inspiration:  Jessica has a lot of great lesson’s learned but my favorites are:

  • “Just put your stuff out there. Somebody will like it. True fact.” and if they don’t
  • “It doesn’t matter if nobody reads it – It feels good to share ideas, even if you’re just shouting into the void.”

Summary (aka reminders to myself)

  • Seriously, “just put your stuff out there:” Take the clues from Natalie and Jessica.  It doesn’t need to be perfect and it just feels good to share, even if you are the only one to benefit.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

