Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

The Finds

So this week I officially admitted to myself that I am frustrated and overwhelmed with the triage and filter part of my personal knowledge management (PKM) efforts. Two signs that indicate, for me, what I am doing is failing.

It seems this week the social media universe sent me gentle reminders  that helped me remember how failing is essential to learning:

  •  A blog post by Donald Clark on 7 teacher and learning strategies found via Feedly.  One of his learner strategies is: “Failure is fine . . . Everyone fails to succeed, you are no different.”

My Insights

  • Failing at something does not mean I am a failure.  It just means what I did was not the solution and I need to course correct (aka – new filter, triage, and content organization methods).
  • Failure is absolutely essential in the PKM process.  PKM is all about doing what works for you which means you have to try (and fail) in order to figure out what works for you, your life, and your goals.
  • It’s good to show your work even if it doesn’t end up working for you: Your failure could be someone else’s success.