Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

The Finds

  • A blog post by Stephen Dale: The 7 Principles of Knowledge Management. He makes an excellent point as he closes out his post: “At the end of the day you can’t beat face to face conversations as learning opportunities. Make the most of them when they occur!”
  • Jay Baer’s videocast on why the little things matter and how they make a huge impact on an organization. Side note:  I follow Jay Baer as I am really interested in what’s happening in the content marketing world. I feel a lot of what they are doing can help the L&D industry/profession.

My Insights:

  • Nothing beats a face to face conversation, especially when you learning:  This week I explained to a colleague what I was doing with my PKM strategy and had a few AhHa moments that have shifted they way I am working it.  I don’t think these realizations would have happened if I hadn’t spoken through what I was thinking and answered her questions in real time.  It’s so good to talk it out!
  • It’s the little human touches that matter most in learning:  This week I did my very first twitter chat: Chat2Lrn.  I was amazed about how quick the other participants were to jump in and help me to figure out how to engage.  A few even helped me out after it was over with some good tips. They didn’t have to do it.  It was informal and unscripted but it added huge value to my learning.  The little human touches really do matter in learning.