I’m currently working through the MOOC Exploring Social Learning and this last weeks topic was VUCA an acronym used to describe or reflect on the volatility, uncertainty, complexity and ambiguity of general conditions and situations.  I’m using my blog as a space to work out loud and reflect on our summary activities for the next couple of weeks.

Question of the week: Organisations are being forced to rapidly and continuously adapt to the conditions of the so called VUCA world. To what extent do you think today’s times are any more VUCA than previous ages? Think about it in the context of your own organisation or experience.

My rambling thoughts: I do think our times are more VUCA than in previous ages due to the pace of change which, I feel, is bred by our access to information and people.  Even though this social age facilitates VUCA, I also think it’s part of the cure because it facilitates learning.

Jelle Jacquet, a learning and development professional who is also participating in the MOOC, trigger this though for me during  a discussion on the impact of networks and communities on learning.  She stated “that learners are no longer in it for themselves and the power they gain through knowledge. The “power” is now coming from showing vulnerability, humility and in the sharing of that knowledge.”  To me this is the power of the social age and how it will help us overcome VUCA.