Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

The Find & The Experience

An article by Loren Mooney interviewing Heidi Roizen on professional networking found via Twitter.

Heidi offers some great networking tips but my takeaway is a little more personal.  When Heidi mentions being a giver as a key to networking, it was a reminder of the importance in validating the experience of others when building and maintaining your personal learning network.

This mindset led me to reach out to Helen Crump and validate her experience when I saw she had been “lurking and learning” at the OZLearn twitter chat (which I was doing after the fact because of the time difference – I’m fast asleep at 2 am pst).

The Insight

I’m sure it was nice for Helen to have her experience validated but by validating hers, I also validated mine:

  • Adding value can be as simple as acknowledging the experiences and thoughts of others.  It doesn’t always have to be about adding intellectual insights to the global brain.