Sunday Summary: Silos, Ownership & Value

Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

This week it’s all about partnerships, value creation and the reminder knowledge is personal.

The Finds

Why your C Suite Should Care About Employee Advocacy

Credit: Mark Bajus at Trapit via Feedly.

Here’s what struck a cord for me:

“Almost 9 out of 10 workers are unhappy in their work environment, and they do the bare minimum at work. That’s a real problem for people in human resources. An HR professional’s job is to ensure that employees are doing their jobs effectively.” Believe it or not, using social media can help remedy this engagement problem. According to the researchers Niran Subramaniam, Joe Nandhakumar, and João Baptista, employees that use social media at work are more creative, collaborative, and productive.”

So why did this strike a cord?  To me it’s another call for the L&D function to get out of their silo and start partnering with others in the organization, especially the marketing department.   Together we can do great things to increase brand awareness and educate our employees.

Knowledge Remains Personal

Credit: Richard Martin via Luis Suarez on twitter

Here’s what hit home:

“I do not really believe that collective, corporate knowledge can be managed in the same way as data and information can. This is because knowledge is personal. Separate it from the individual and their context, and I question whether it is still knowledge . . . . The ideas I share only become knowledge again when they have been internalised by someone else, made their own.”

I love looking at knowledge this way – as not something to be controlled or dictated but internalized and customized.

702010 Forum Value Creation Story

Credit: Michelle Ockers via twitter

Here’s what caught my attention: They way she assessed her online interaction using a value creation framework she found in an article by Jane Bozarth.

This is an amazing framework and one that I believe will help me justify what I feel are the countless hours of time I spend engaging in online interactions.   I love it when you find something that rocks your world and you can apply immediately!

Summary (aka reminders to myself)

  • Don’t work in silos
  • You can’t control knowledge
  • You can quantify the value of online interactions

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑