Top 3 Lessons from Learning Ecosystems 2015

It’s the Social Age of learning & working where:

Personal knowledge management is ESSENTIAL,

I can’t thank Harold Jarche enough for introducing me to the concept.  If I hadn’t been working on this process, I would not have be able to synthesize all the information coming at me.  In addition, I was able to engage and interact with my peers because I already had a solid foundation of how the world of work is changing.

change management is CRITICAL,

In pretty much every session I attended, change management was mentioned as a critical component to implementing any of piece of the Learning Ecosystem including the technologies, process, and content that surround it.  My additional take on this is, that it can’t be traditional change management where it’s formal and close to the end.  Change Management has to be integrated from the very beginning.

and it’s CRUCIAL that we allow ourselves to fail.

The world is changing way to fast.  The only way we can innovate to solve the “wicked” problems that come with rapid change is to give ourselves and others the space to be wrong.  There is no learning without failure and no failure without learning.

My Session Summaries

  • Learning Environment Design Day 1 & Day 2
  • Articulate Studio Session: Learning is Messy
  • Learning Ecosystems Conference Day 1
  • Learning Ecosystems Conference Day 2
  • Learning Ecosystems Conference Day 3: This will be a sketch of a Learning & Performance EcoSystem for the company I work.  Once it’s sketched, I will seek permission to share.

Other Resources

You probably already know this but David Kelly does an awesome job of curating resources from the back channel of the conference.  Check out his site below to see what others are saying: