Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

The Finds

Kirkpatrick model: Good or Bad?

I came across this in my twitter feed just before the event started and I am so glad I did. Not because of the topic, which is interesting by the way, but because it is so awesome to see a live debate.  It’s a lost art and one that we should bring back to the L&D profession.

Digital hives: Creating a surge around change

One of my takeaways from Learning & Performance EcoSystems was the need for non-traditional ways to manage change.  In typical twitter fashion, this article floated into my feed on creation of digital “hives” using online communities to help companies engage with employees and accelerate change. Here’s what got my mind turning:

Digital “hives”—electronic hubs bristling with collective activity and designed to solve a particular problem or set of problems, to drive new habits, and to encourage organizational change.”

My takeaways (aka reminders to myself)

  • Don’t shy away from debate: It’s a key way to challenge assumptions and shift  thinking.  They ability to respectively disagree, clearly communicate ones thoughts, and be open to shift your thinking will become key skills as we try to revolutionize L&D.
  • Start from the bottom up:  Don’t always look to leadership and management to drive & support change. The best people to solve problems, drive new habits, and encourage change are those that are actually doing the work.