Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me. Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

The Finds

This week, I invested my personal knowledge management time in meetings with two people I follow on Twitter. Below are my takeaways from those conversations.

Lunch with Ben Carmel

I meet Ben via twitter and since we live close we decided to meet face to face. We talked about the learning and development industry as well as our love of personal knowledge management.

Ben and I both work in industries that are dominated by requirements not controlled by our organizations. So our conversation quickly turned to culture change and how hard it is in these types of environments.  Which is where I got my “ah-ah” moment: PKM is the perfect “tool” for supporting culture change in both your organization and those you interact with. It spreads the word, it forces you to question your assumptions and provides a way for you to try new ways of doing things.

Happy Hour with Emily Kellet

Emily  reached out to me after she saw how I was engaging with the content TrapIt provides on content marketing, employee advocacy and social selling.

My conversion with Emily surrounded how employee advocacy is not just about sales and marketing.  It’s also a way to drive employee engagement and productivity.

What I concluded from our conversation is that Employee Advocacy is a way to help drive PKM practices in organizations. Which would help in driving the culture change we need to embed learning in work.

Summary (AKA reminders to myself)

  • Social Media is a great way to build your personal learning network but don’t under estimate the value in an old fashioned networking meeting. ; )