Sunday Summary: Growing Leaders

Sunday Summary is my attempt to look back on the week, see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Work Out Loud Note: I’m still figuring out (fighting with) blog  technology so this is my interim format fix for my Sunday Summary.

Weekly Favorite Finds

Head on over to my ScoopIt page to see my favorite finds for the week (it’s filtered to show only this weeks adds).

This Weeks Learning Adventure

It all started with an article where my CEO stated that:

For a leader to grow, they need to embrace the power of diversity in how they advance themselves along with the team around them.

The words”diversity in how they advance” got me thinking about how this happens through things like social leadership, social learning, and personal knowledge management.

This is where something clicked for me. There is a “glue” that ties all these things together: the leveraging of expertise inside and outside the organization.

But how do you find it I asked?  

You read Julian Stodds article on 11 Key questions on authority and expertise to help identify where expertise lies and how we engage with it.

Well than, what needs to happen first to support the leveraging of expertise?  

You must have a supportive culture as pointed out by Sahana Chattopadhyay who offers a few suggestions on changes organizations need to make to embrace social collaborative learning.

So, how do we build an environment that embraces things like social collaborative learning?

You build an intelligent enterprise using the building blocks provided by Harold Jarche:

intelligent-enterprise-2

Note: I would add social leadership to Harold’s networked leadership as the social leadership “model” also makes sense to me as a way to build “networked leadership.”

All easier said then done but this is what will keep us all employed ; )

 Summary (aka reminders to myself)

  • Write it (or sketch it) out:  This is the perfect way to make the things you are learning and struggling with make sense.  It doesn’t matter if it’s wrong.  You can fix it later ; )

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

