Friday Reflections are my chance to take a look back at what I learned during the week see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Note: My Sunday Summaries are changing to Friday Reflections – mainly because it’s summer and I want to spend my weekend time on my mountain bike and not behind a computer ; )

What I learned this Week

This week I started Harold Jarche’s PKM course.  I wanted to take the course again because I’ve been wanting to refine my  PKM practice.  One of Harold’s first exercises is to work through a series of questions regarding the diversity of your knowledge network.

What I learned from Harold’s exercise is that I don’t really reach inside my organization for help.  I need a better & more diverse internal network. This really hit home for me during a twitter conversation with Andrew Jacobs.

2015-05-21_7-54-28

I realize there’s other issues apparent in this conversation, but if I had a better internal network I could work with that network to understand the big “business” picture.

In addition to Harold’s exercise, I analyzed my twitter network using some links he provided. What I learned is that is diverse but I have got to get more organized.   I follow a bunch of people (whom I want to follow and interact with) but I miss some stuff because they are buried in my current organization method.

What was really interesting for me was looking at what I was sharing, what hashtags I was using, and whom I was interacting with using foller.me (it analyzes your last 100 tweets).

2015-05-21_11-57-16

Looking at this analysis sparked a new way for me to start organizing my twitter feeds in HootSuite based on the hashtags and users I am interacting with most.

In addition my review of my network on Twitonomy, gave me additional data on my most used hashtags and interactions that can fuel my new organization method.

Now the hard work begins of reorganizing and cleaning out my network based on this new data.  Thank goodness I paid the $20 for a month of Twitonomy – you can download the people you follow into excel to help organize them in lists.  Fun times are ahead ; )

Favorite Finds

Head on over to ScoopIt for my favorite finds this week.