Friday Reflections are my chance to take a look back at what I learned during the week see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

What I Learned This Week

So it’s Week 2 of Harold’s PKM course but as is my typical fashion I am still on week 1.

Side note: Does it count that I always have good intentions? 

Anyway, one of the exercises is to try and Work Out Loud (WOL), which I realized I don’t do much of as I am a perfectionist and WOL, to me means that I have to show my messy thought process.  I’m going to try it by showing what I am learning about WOL circles.

So here it goes – My stream of consciousness . . .

I am trying to learn more about WOL circles and John Stepper’s process as a way to be the change, I wish to see.  I am also interested in it as a way to start a “grassroots” movement within my organization.

It just so happens that this weeks PKM chat was on WOL circles, so I did my best to participate and learn from the group.  I am still really intimidated by twitter chats as they happen fast, and I am always afraid I may say something stupid or won’t really add value.

Yes, I know that’s slightly crazy but I think a lot of us get in this space when we are trying to learn something new using technology that we haven’t quite figured out.  To be honest, it’s one of the reason’s I love PKM and WOL concepts.  It forces me to face my issues.

In attempt to try and figure out what I took away from the chat, I created a Storify, to pull together my thoughts.  It’s defiantly messy and doesn’t have a lot of content becasue I hadn’t gone into the chat thinking I wanted to create a summary.   However what I liked about it was that I have a few key lessons and some homework to follow up on.

What I will do next time will be to use the twitter favorite feature more to flag my key lessons so that they are easier to find in Storify.

OK so that wasn’t as hard as I thought but resisting the urge to edit, well that is really really hard . . . . .

Favorite Finds

None this week.  Work and life have been crazy.