Friday Reflections are my chance to take a look back at what I learned during the week see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

What I learned this week

I’ve been re-taking Harod’s PKM course and this week was our last week.  One of the participants Chad Gorski organized a GoogleAir Hangout so we could all reflect on our experience (great ideal Chad!).   Because I can’t participate in the actual event, I am going to reflect here, using Chads questions, as a way of contributing and helping me figure out my takeaways.

What was the most useful concept you learned from this workshop?

For me, it’s not so much about a concept and more about the conversation.  My favorite was when we discussed what people are doing for filtering and the challenges they face – mainly time to go back to what they found and figuring out what tools to use to support their process.   I really like how Harold keeps it simple – he uses very few web tools.  This inspired me to just stick with what I am using instead of just trying to find the perfect solution –  there are no perfect tools ; )

What was the most surprising concept you learned?

Genevieve Adam-Smith posted a link to a really interesting article in response to our adding value discussion that shifted my thinking.  The article talks about Scott Hanselman and his answer to how to scale yourself and get more done.  The answer “Drop the ball.”  I forgot that I can do this.   Scott Hanselman reminded me that “Saying ‘no’ is difficult, but the guilt associated with saying ‘yes’ is often worse than the guilt associated with saying ‘no'”

What will be the most challenging aspect of PKM for you?

That I can’t “drop the ball.” I try to do to much.  I always have the best intentions for my PKM practice but I can’t always follow-through with them because I say “yes” when I should be saying “no.”

Where do you hope to be with your PKM practice one year from now?

I hope to have my practice refined so that it takes less time and is more a part of my day to day job.  I can do this by reevaluating my goals and honestly stop putting so much pressure on myself.  It’s hard being a recovering perfectionist ; )

PKM Note

This post took me 45 mins to write as I needed to really think to answer Chad’s questions.