Friday Reflections are my chance to take a look back at what I learned during the week see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Inspiration 1

A post by John Stepper found via my Feedly feed.

“As you work out loud and build your network, remember to pay attention to the people right next to you.”

My Lesson

Ding! Ding!  As I am engaging in my WOL circle, I am finding that these are the people I really want to connect with a learn from, not the “experts” I have on my list.  Pretty significant Ah-Ah for me ; )

Inspiration 2

A post by Ayelet Baron found on LinkedIn

“Pick yourself.”

My Lesson

It’s easy to get caught up in doing things because others want you to, or you feel like you should because that’s what society says.  As I re-evaluate my social media, and PKM efforts, this is a good reminder to choose what I do and engage for me and what this can give back to society.

Inspiration 3

A post by Mark Britz.

“Just wanting it and believing in it is a good first step but real demand is a commitment having two parts, ability and willingness.”

My Lesson

Mark is referring to change and the fact that just wanting something to change isn’t going to make it happen.  You also have to be willing to actually make the change.  This typically comes with sacrifice.  What Mark made me see this week was that even though I really, really want to see and be the change in my organization, I wasn’t willing to sacrifice what I am currently doing to achieve the vision I have.  I must go all in.

What did you learn this week?  Let me know in comments or on twitter.