Friday Reflections are my chance to take a look back at what I learned during the week see what inspired me, reflect on what I learned, and start a catalog of the things that are important to me.  Hopefully you will find some value here as well. The concept was derived from Harold Jarche and his Friday Finds blog post.

Inspiration

This quote from Ben Carmel’s blog post on trust and control:

“We have to give up the idea that we can control our daily forays into learning, sharing, and growing.”

My lesson

As Ben points out in his post, giving up control as we are learning, sharing and growing, means trusting ourselves, our network, and our organizations.  This is hard for a Type A perfectionist who never wants to be wrong or rely on others for help. Trust, though, is exactly why I practice working out loud and engage with my professional learning network.  It forces me to.

It also forces me to face what happens when trust is broken and others start to grasp for control because they are scared of the change working in an open, connected world brings.  It forces me to accept my responsibility in the fallout, to acknowledge that I have been operating from a place of fear, and that I was not communicating as effectively as I could.  It reminds me that sometimes, when you are on the edge, you do fall off the cliff.  Though if your lucky, like me, you have a whole personal learning network to catch you as you fall.

Time to start climbing again.