P is for Pressure to Perform

I’ve been sitting on a lot of planes lately – which has given me the opportunity to clean out my Evernote “read it” later files. This is something that has been on my to do list for months. I think I have been avoiding it as I basically abandoned my weekly practice of sharing my favorite finds, a practice I learned from Harold Jarche, and something I had felt is pretty critical to my Personal Knowledge Management practice. So why did I give it up?

I think I tried to make it perfect. I started putting pressure on myself and it stopped being fun. So I stopped doing it, well at least the reflective and sharing part of the process, I still am hoarding articles like they are somehow going to disappear and the wisdom they may contain will never again return.

What I am seeing as I am cleaning out my backlog though is that the wisdom I need comes from taking the time to reflect and share what I find. I also know that I am the only one who is putting pressure on myself. So what if I only reflect and share my favorite finds once a week or once a month or even once every six months. I honestly started this whole journey for me, not for anyone who happens to read my posts. Yes, its nice when they do but that’s not the point of this whole thing for me. It’s about me exploring and learning by making connections between ideas. It’s about me working out loud. It’s about me letting go of perfect and being OK with random. It’s about me turning my favorite finds into something that works for me and giving myself permission to change it when it doesn’t.

Somehow along the way I forgot what the “P” stands for in PKM. P does not stand for Pressure to Perform. Cleaning out my archives is reminding me that when something is Personal it’s for you first, which means do what works for you. There is no pressure to do things because they may help others, that’s just an added bonus when it happens.

Now back to cleaning out my archives . . .

2 thoughts on “P is for Pressure to Perform

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

