Trust Through Consistent Action: Part 2

I’m still revamping my personal knowledge mastery practice (PKM) using (and beta testing) Sea Salt Learning’s Social Leadership cards ; ) I am also still working on the Trust Through Consistent Action card – this is part 2 of that series.

It part 1, I shared that I wan’t really being that consistent and that felt I my process needed an overhaul.  In this post I want to explain the thinking behind my process and my target goals for executing.

pkmprocess
My “Target” PKM process inspired by the work of Harold Jache & John Stepper.

Seeking

I am currently find info using filters I have set up in Feedy (how I subscribe to blogs), on twitter using HootSuite (setup tabs based on interests), ad hoc searching, and communities/networks I am involved in.

When I review/scan any content I ask myself a few questions:

  • Is it useful? If not, i delete it or ignore it.
  • If it is useful, do I have time to do something with it now or do I need to save it for later?  If I can process it now, I try to make sense of the information. If I don’t have time but I think I want to do something with it, I save for later in an Evernote Inbox adding a note about what intrigued me so I know why I saved it when I triage my Inbox at a later time.

Side Note: Thoughts on Saving for Later

My goal is to try and go through my Inbox 2 times a week and deal with what’s in there.  I ask myself the following questions again:

  • Is it still useful? If not, i delete it.
  • Can I use it during this planned sense making session? If not, do I really need to hold on to it if I can’t process it right now?  If I do, it stays in the Inbox until I can. If I can, I go through my sense-making process.

I always try to remember that stuff floats back to you.  If I don’t need it now or in the near future, I try to let it go.

Sense making 

If it’s something I have time to dive into now, there are a few choices I make about what I want to do with that content.

  • Is it something I want to curate on ScoopIt, Flipboard or my internal work network?
  • Is it something I need to deep dive into because I am trying to acquire new knowledge and add value to a certain topic?
  • or is it something that I want to “engage” with?  To me this means just a quick tweet to share content or a comment on someone’s work.

Sometimes the answer is any number of combinations above.

I also ask myself the following questions (questions 1-3 come from Jane Hart’s PKM Process)

  • does this add something key to what I already know?
  • does this take my own thinking forward?, or
  • does this even change my thinking about what I already know?
  • will the content or the content I am synthesizing add value to anyone I know?
  • if I want to enage with the content is it purposeful?

If the answer is yes to any of these questions I share the content, adding my own insights or thoughts on why I am sharing. If not I purge the content.

Purposeful Sharing

I tend to think that I can share content actively and inactively.   When I publish content on my blog, medium, or a curation tool, I view this as inactive sharing. This is because people have to search or subscribe to find.  I am not actively promoting or pointing people to the content I created/synthesized.

Whereas on Twitter or LinkedIn, I try to share content that is purposeful (meaning that it benefits someone other than myself) so that I can build/foster relationships.  If I actively shared everything I found, created, or thought interesting, I would be spamming my network and not adding value.

Harold Jarche’s PKM Workshop and John Stepper’s WOL circles really drove this point home for me.

Side Note: Sharing While Working Out Loud

In the instance of acquiring knowledge/adding value, it sometimes takes awhile.  I use tools like Evernote or DIIGO  to highlight key points and take notes. Sometimes I work out loud on this content and share half backed ideas to my blog but only when I think my thought process may help someone or I need feedback on what I am thinking about. It has to be purposeful in order for me to actively share/promote it.

Target Time Frame

The following is how I try to schedule out my time.  I know it looks like a lot but since this work is part of my job and has now become just part of what I do, it’s hard to separate it out from my daily work.  Timing is also part of where the personal comes in – you can do what you can do.  Don’t compare yourself to others.

pkmprocesstime

Summary

I am hoping that I can follow this process and get back in the game.  It’s a collection of what I have been doing all along, just not in a consistent manner.  In addition,  I hope that by documenting my process, I can continue to evolve it as well as form stronger relationships based on my consistent action.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

