brealing-out-of-boxOnce your eyes have been opened and you have stepped out of the box it’s really hard to step back in.

I have been on  a journey to modernize myself using concepts like social leadership, personal knowledge mastery and working out loud for the past few years.  It has opened my eyes to a whole new way of working, one that I want to share with others.

In a few prior posts I discussed what this may look like and that I was ready to find my next thing (either inside or outside my current org).  As you may have noticed, this was quite a few months ago and I really have not made any progress.  Why is that you ask?

Well for a few reason’s

  • I got distracted (hey look, there’s a squirrel)
  • I prioritized other things (did someone say let’s go mountain biking?)
  • I got discouraged (this is so freaking hard)

And it seems I am not the only one.  Helen Blunden of Activate Learning Solutions is also on a similar quest.

She wants a:

“role that blends inspiration and new thinking from people who are inspired and who inspire others with their ideas and projects. One that trail blazes and inspires people to continually build their own learning capacity. A place where I can have the freedom to express myself in my own quirky way through social networks, blogging and video. If it’s focussed on ethical industries that help support community and society – then even better!”

and is also similarly discouraged:

“Trust me, there ain’t any jobs like that on any online job boards.”

So it seems that I am also left scratching my head, clearly out of the box but realizing that I may need to stuff a leg or two back in to forge ahead and break through the corporate hierarchies.

In a follow on post Helen discusses that concept.

Recently I shared to my Facebook friends that I may concede defeat and have to learn the e-learning courseware development package Articulate (which seems to be on 99% of the job adverts for Australian Learning roles in the online job boards).

Many of you know my frustration for developing courses for courses sake, however, in order to get through the first round to interviews, this software package must be on my resume or it gets knocked out by the recruiter’s keyword search bots.

Ugh.  I so feel you Helen (insert tantrum foot stomping here).

However, whenever I resist something so strongly, it normally indicates something I know I need to do. I think I tend to forget that most people & corporations are not where I am at.  That happens when you try to live on the edge.

I need to take a step back and refocus.  Here is how I am going to start:

  • Find/create a course development project so I can beef up my instructional design/development skills
  • Find a WOL circle so I can create relationships to help me research and discover what I want from my next thing
  • Reflect more on what my capabilities are and how each of them can address the needs of a business.

So glad I come upon Helen’s post this week.  It’s giving me the kick in the ass I need.