PKM is Kinda Like Therapy

I’m on a plane to Maryland for my Dad’s 75th birthday catching up on my backlog of “read it later” articles.  In these articles, I came across one from Harold Jarche on the evolution of his Personal Knowledge Management (PKM) process. Reading through it I had an “Ah Ha” moment.

Somewhere along the line I forgot about the “Experimenting” part of the sense-making process.  OK, so maybe it was more like I ignored it as experimentation is messy. I want a process that’s nice and neat, all wrapped up in a pretty package (insert tantrum like foot stomping here).

This is not PKM.  The essence of PKM is Experimentation.  Experimentation at it’s very core is messy. You just have to keep plugging away and trying to figure out what works. What works is also different for everybody and can/will change on a daily, weekly and monthly basis.

UGH! why is that so hard for me? Sometimes I feel like the whole PKM process is like therapy.  It forces you to face your perfection/failure issues and is a constant reminder (which I obviously need) of how easy it is to fall back into the trap of “perfect.”   Guess that’s why it so good for me ; )

3 thoughts on “PKM is Kinda Like Therapy

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing your story Kate. Good to know I’m not alone. Sometimes you feel like your drinking out of a firehose isn’t it? There are so much good material and so many ways to find that material it can be overwhelming. The big thing I get out of Harold’s post. “Aggregate > Understand > Connect: in order to enhance serendipity”. I love the goal of “Connecting to enhance serendipity”. When we look at it like that it becomes less stressful. Thanks for making me think, and the inspiration to keep plugging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

